Club History 

The Gull Lake Area Rotary Club was originally organized as the Rotary Club of Augusta, Michigan on September 20, 1954 and our Sponsor Club was the Rotary Club of Climax, Michigan. Our bell (the original-still in use today) displays this name. 

Our Club was admitted to Membership in Rotary International on October 12, 1954 and we received our Charter on November 4, 1954. There were twenty-four charter members under the leadership of President T. Ben Johnson. 

In the early days, our Club held its Thursday lunch meetings at a restaurant in Augusta. Over time, we became the Rotary Club of Augusta-Gull Lake. 

With the closing of the Gull Harbor Inn in the late 60's, the Club met briefly at the Bay View Inn, at the south end of Gull Lake. Our next move placed us at the Stage Coach Inn, just north of the village of Richland. In 1976, we adopted our present name, The Rotary Club of Gull Lake Area (or GLARC). 

The upper floor of the Stage Coach Inn served as our 'home' for nearly 30 years. However, in 2001, the Stage Coach Inn closed its doors for good, causing us to move to the Gull Lake Cafe, then to the beautiful and historic Kellogg Manor House, and then to the cafeteria of the Kellogg Biological Station. 

In 2002, we moved to the Richland Township Hall on North 32nd Street and became a breakfast club. The move to mornings significantly increased our weekly attendance and helped the Club to grow.

In January of 2007, we moved to our present location at the Richland Area Community Center, 9400 East CD Avenue, Richland, Michigan.


The Rotary Club of Gull Lake Area was organized September 20, 1954

Applied for Charter October 12, 1954
Charter Received November 4, 1954

Virgil Andrews                                            Joseph Memeth
                    Victor Broberg                                          Lester Newkirk. Jr.                        Ford Campbell                                       Spencer Bacon Owens
Phillip Clay                                                  Clare Richardson
John Dalbec                                               J. Edward Robeson
J.B. Decker                                                    Edward Rogers
H.L. Dodge                                                  Carroll Schlueter
Garnet Haines                                              Russell Simons
Warren Hazard                                              Neil H. Smith
A.C. Hensell                                                   Warren Speers
T. Ben Johnston                                            Thomas Walker
                   Kenneth Kirkbride                                          Max Whipple                  

                         Theodore Makowski



Upcoming Speakers
Club Leaders
Weekly Bulletin
Club Events

© All content belongs to the Rotary Club of Gull Lake Area unless otherwise specified.
Any and all Rotary marks are the property of Rotary International and their use is permitted by License from Rotary International.
EZ-Website powered by Member Minder Pro © 2003-2024, and its affiliates. All rights reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use